Add timeout to describe_location and handle exceptions
authorTom Hughes <tom@compton.nu>
Sat, 19 Jun 2010 06:51:46 +0000 (07:51 +0100)
committerTom Hughes <tom@compton.nu>
Sat, 19 Jun 2010 06:53:22 +0000 (07:53 +0100)
app/helpers/application_helper.rb

index 68da97dce58461b32f56aa8f942cf582b3ec94f2..5fa021bcf4e695c130c2e4094fe1ecb2ccdb68cc 100644 (file)
@@ -44,9 +44,16 @@ module ApplicationHelper
     zoom = zoom || 14
     language = language || request.user_preferred_languages.join(',')
     url = "http://nominatim.openstreetmap.org/reverse?lat=#{lat}&lon=#{lon}&zoom=#{zoom}&accept-language=#{language}"
-    response = REXML::Document.new(Net::HTTP.get(URI.parse(url)))
 
-    if result = response.get_text("reversegeocode/result")
+    begin
+      Timeout::timeout(4) do
+        response = REXML::Document.new(Net::HTTP.get(URI.parse(url)))
+      end
+    rescue Exception
+      response = nil
+    end
+
+    if response and result = response.get_text("reversegeocode/result")
       result.to_s
     else
       "#{number_with_precision(lat, :precision => 3)}, #{number_with_precision(lon, :precision => 3)}"