Better comments in application controller logic
authorMatt Amos <zerebubuth@gmail.com>
Wed, 4 Apr 2012 15:10:45 +0000 (16:10 +0100)
committerTom Hughes <tom@compton.nu>
Thu, 5 Apr 2012 12:52:07 +0000 (13:52 +0100)
app/controllers/application_controller.rb

index d987472531e5a147a64325f546936e6bc262e517..791334d2df98e0a18c5828c0f17b4ce115ea382a 100644 (file)
@@ -113,7 +113,7 @@ class ApplicationController < ActionController::Base
 
   ##
   # require that the user is a moderator, or fill out a helpful error message
-  # and return them to the blocks index.
+  # and return them to the index for the controller this is wrapped from.
   def require_moderator
     unless @user.moderator?
       if request.get?
@@ -178,6 +178,10 @@ class ApplicationController < ActionController::Base
   # to be used as a before_filter *after* authorize. this checks that
   # the user is a moderator and, if not, returns a forbidden error.
   #
+  # NOTE: this isn't a very good way of doing it - it duplicates logic
+  # from require_moderator - but what we really need to do is a fairly
+  # drastic refactoring based on :format and respond_to? but not a 
+  # good idea to do that in this branch.
   def authorize_moderator(errormessage="Access restricted to moderators") 
     # check user is a moderator
     unless @user.moderator?