Remove unused gem and add a comment where it was replaced
authorJohn Firebaugh <john.firebaugh@gmail.com>
Sun, 26 Aug 2012 02:30:51 +0000 (19:30 -0700)
committerTom Hughes <tom@compton.nu>
Mon, 27 Aug 2012 19:29:56 +0000 (20:29 +0100)
Gemfile
Gemfile.lock
app/assets/javascripts/browse.js

diff --git a/Gemfile b/Gemfile
index 2407a9f..ad2f04c 100644 (file)
--- a/Gemfile
+++ b/Gemfile
@@ -29,9 +29,6 @@ gem 'i18n-js', '>= 3.0.0.rc2'
 # We need ruby-openid 2.2.0 or later for ruby 1.9 support
 gem 'ruby-openid', '>= 2.2.0'
 
-# Browser detection support
-gem 'browser'
-
 # Markdown formatting support
 gem 'redcarpet'
 
index 2a16252..1ec7948 100644 (file)
@@ -31,7 +31,6 @@ GEM
       multi_json (~> 1.0)
     arel (3.0.2)
     bigdecimal (1.1.0)
-    browser (0.1.4)
     builder (3.0.0)
     cocaine (0.2.1)
     coffee-rails (3.2.2)
@@ -163,7 +162,6 @@ PLATFORMS
 DEPENDENCIES
   SystemTimer (>= 1.1.3)
   bigdecimal
-  browser
   coffee-rails (~> 3.2.1)
   composite_primary_keys (>= 5.0.8)
   deadlock_retry (>= 1.2.0)
index fef09aa..d67f044 100644 (file)
@@ -225,6 +225,11 @@ function loadData(url, reload) {
 
     if (browseDataLayer) browseDataLayer.destroyFeatures();
 
+    /*
+     * Modern browsers are quite happy showing far more than 100 features in
+     * the data browser, so increase the limit to 2000 by default, but keep
+     * it restricted to 500 for IE8 and 100 for older IEs.
+     */
     var maxFeatures = 2000;
 
     /*@cc_on