Add links to the Beginners' guide, mailing lists and forums to the help page
authorSimon Poole <simon@poole.ch>
Sun, 3 May 2015 14:04:24 +0000 (16:04 +0200)
committerTom Hughes <tom@compton.nu>
Tue, 5 May 2015 16:56:38 +0000 (17:56 +0100)
From a pure design and content view (where the content is factual) a link
to learnosm.org would really be better. Potentially learnosm could be forked
and a version hosted on OSMF infrastructure with the marketing verbiage
for HOTs view of the world removed.

app/views/site/help.html.erb
config/locales/en.yml

index a1b1adb..21d29aa 100644 (file)
@@ -4,7 +4,7 @@
 
 <p class='introduction'><%= t "help_page.introduction" %></p>
 
-<% ['welcome', 'help', 'wiki'].each do |site| %>
+<% ['welcome', 'beginners_guide', 'help', 'mailing_lists', 'forums', 'wiki'].each do |site| %>
   <% unless site == 'welcome' && !@user %>
   <div class='<%= site %> help-item'>
   <h3>
index ad6638c..701bae2 100644 (file)
@@ -1152,10 +1152,22 @@ en:
       url: /welcome
       title: Welcome to OSM
       description: Start with this quick guide covering the OpenStreetMap basics.
+    beginners_guide:
+      url: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Beginners%27_guide
+      title: Beginners' Guide
+      description: Community maintained guide for beginners.
     help:
       url: https://help.openstreetmap.org/
       title: help.openstreetmap.org
       description: Ask a question or look up answers on OSM's question-and-answer site.
+    mailing_lists:
+      url: http://lists.openstreetmap.org/
+      title: Mailing Lists
+      description: Ask a question or discuss interesting matters on a wide range of topical or regional mailing lists.
+    forums:
+      url: http://forum.openstreetmap.org/
+      title: Forums
+      description: The same as above for those that prefer a bulletin board style interface.
     wiki:
       url: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/
       title: wiki.openstreetmap.org